LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

October 13, 2020, 5:30 p.m. 304 E. Grand River Avenue, Board Chambers, Howell, MI Zoom Virtual Meeting ID: 399-700-0062 / Password: LCBOC https://zoom.us/j/3997000062?pwd=SUdLYVFFcmozWnFxbm0vcHRjWkVIZz09

Members Present:In person: Carol Griffith, Kate Lawrence, William Green, Wes Nakagiri, Douglas
Helzerman, and Jay Gross,
Remote: Robert Bezotte and Gary Childs

1. CALL ANNUAL MEETING TO ORDER

The Annual Meeting was called to order by Chairwoman Carol Griffith at 5:32 p.m.

2. MOMENT OF SILENT REFLECTION

3. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

All rose for the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

4. ROLL CALL

Roll call by the Clerk indicated the presence of a quorum. District 5 Commissioner seat is vacant.

5. CORRESPONDENCE

None.

6. CALL TO THE PUBLIC

The following people spoke regarding Resolution 2020-10-244:

Barbara Niess-May, Green Oak Township; Yvonne Black; Lee Anzick, Brighton Township; Greg Kellogg, LETS Director; Kate DeRosier, Hartland; Judy Daubenmier, Brighton; Cindy Michniewicz, Pinckney; Bill Cowan, Unadilla Township; Lori Cowan, Unadilla Township; Bob Sexton, Brighton; Brian Jonckheere, Drain Commissioner; Anne Levy, Brighton Township; Ron Kardos, Oceola Township; Deb Reynolds; Cindy Kalogeropoulos, Brighton; Kathryn Thomas; Jason Woolford; Roger Chance, Howell; Denise O'Connell, Holly; Kasey Helton, Howell; John Wallbank, Howell; Jennifer Smith, Fowlerville; Connie Conklin, Health Department; Rebecca Lipka, Brighton; Michael G. Mitchell, Fowlerville; Arthur Losey, Fowlerville; Kathleen Kline-Hudson, Planning Director; Laurie Leach, Brighton; Dale Klein, Hartland; Christopher Nolan, Howell; Jennifer Garcia, Hartland; Summer McMullen, Hartland; Lena Ellis-Boatman, Howell City; Christopher Bourne, Howell; Lee Ann Blazejewski, Howell; Ryan Smith, Fowlerville; Cindi Holland, Howell; Jodi Rochowiak, Brighton Township; Anna Marie Rodriguez-Pellizzari, Howell; Louise Zrull, Hartland; Mirullia Morneault, Brighton; and Rick Morgan, Brighton.

7. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- a. Minutes of Meeting Dated: September 28, 2020
- b. Minutes of Meeting Dated: October 7, 2020

Motion to approve the minutes as presented.

It was moved by D. Helzerman Seconded by W. Green Roll Call Vote: Yes (8): D. Helzerman, R. Bezotte, J. Gross, G. Childs, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, W. Green, and W. Nakagiri; No (0): None; Absent (0): None.

MOTION Carried (8-0-0)

8. TABLED ITEMS FROM PREVIOUS MEETINGS

None.

9. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to approve the Agenda as presented.

It was moved by W. Nakagiri Seconded by G. Childs

Roll Call Vote: Yes (8): W. Nakagiri, D. Helzerman, R. Bezotte, J. Gross, G. Childs, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, and W. Green; No (0): None; Absent (0): None.

MOTION Carried (8-0-0)

10. PUBLIC HEARING

Michigan Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Funding for (CDBG CARES Funding), Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act (CARES Act), Public Law 116-136

10.a Call Public Hearing to Order

Motion Required

It was moved by K. Lawrence Seconded by D. Helzerman

Motion to go into Public Hearing at 7:34 p.m.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (8): K. Lawrence, W. Green, W. Nakagiri, D. Helzerman, R. Bezotte, J. Gross, G. Childs and C. Griffith; No (0): None; Absent (0): None.

MOTION Carried (8-0-0)

10.b Public Comments

Kathleen Kline-Hudson, Planning Director, provided an overview of the grant.

Commissioner Childs inquired as to what items qualified for purchase under the grant.

Roger Chance, Howell; Melissa Saint Clair, Howell; and Christopher Nolan, Howell, commented on the grant.

Commissioner Nakagiri also commented regarding types of purchases that qualify under the grant.

John Wallbank, Howell, also commented on the grant.

10.c Adjourn Public Hearing

Motion Required

It was moved by D. Helzerman Seconded by K. Lawrence

Motion to adjourn Public Hearing at 7:41 p.m.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (8): D. Helzerman, R. Bezotte, J. Gross, Childs, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, W. Green, and W. Nakagiri; No (0): None; Absent (0): None.

11. REPORTS

Commissioner Childs stated that the public may speak for a second time at the second Call to the Public.

12. APPROVAL OF CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS

Resolutions 2020-10-236 through 2020-10-241

Motion to approve the resolutions on the Consent Agenda.

It was moved by W. Green Seconded by R. Bezotte

Roll Call Vote: Yes (8):, W. Green, W. Nakagiri, D. Helzerman, R. Bezotte, J. Gross, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, and G. Childs; No (0): None; Absent (0): None.

MOTION Carried (8-0-0)

12.a 2020-10-236

Resolution Authorizing Replacement Vehicle Leases for Health Department COVID-19 Response Activities – Car Pool

12.b 2020-10-237

Resolution Authorizing the Construction of a Fuel Farm Canopy and Partial Driveway Replacement at the Transportation Complex – LETS

12.c 2020-10-238

Resolution Approving the Agreement between Livingston County EMS and Merchants & Medical Credit Cooperation Inc. - Emergency Medical Services

12.d 2020-10-239

Resolution Authorizing the Acceptance of the Remounting and Refurbishing Bid for the Emergency Medical Care Vehicle - Emergency Medical Services Department

12.e 2020-10-240

Resolution Authorizing the Acceptance of the Bid for Emergency Medical Care Vehicle – Emergency Medical Services

12.f 2020-10-241

Resolution Requesting the Intergovernmental Agreement with the Local Units and the Designated Assessor - Equalization

13. RESOLUTIONS FOR CONSIDERATION

Resolutions 2020-10-242 through 2020-10-244

13.a 2020-10-242

Resolution for the Annual 2020 Apportionment Report - Equalization

Motion to adopt the Resolution.

It was moved by G. Childs Seconded by K. Lawrence Discussion.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (8): G. Childs, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, W. Green, W. Nakagiri, D. Helzerman, R. Bezotte, and J. Gross; No (0): None; Absent (0): None.

13.b 2020-10-243

A Tribute Resolution Commending Kathleen Lomako, Executive Director of the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments, on the Occasion of Her Retirement - Board of Commissioners

Motion to adopt the Resolution.

It was moved by G. Childs Seconded by J. Gross Discussion.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (8): G. Childs, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, W. Green, W. Nakagiri, D. Helzerman, R. Bezotte, and J. Gross; No (0): None; Absent (0): None.

MOTION Carried (8-0-0)

13.c 2020-10-244

Resolution Rescinding Mandatory Use of Face Coverings - Board of Commissioners

Motion to adopt the Resolution.

It was moved by W. Nakagiri Seconded by W. Green Commissioner Nakagiri presented a Power Point. Discussion from the Commissioners followed the presentation.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (4): W. Nakagiri, D. Helzerman, W. Green, and R. Bezotte; No (4): C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, J. Gross, and G. Childs; Absent (0): None.

MOTION Failed (4-4-0)

14. CALL TO THE PUBLIC

The following people spoke regarding Resolution 2020-10-244:

Dale Klein, Hartland; Laurie Leach, Brighton; Roger Chance, Howell; Christopher Bourne, Howell; Arthur Losey, Fowlerville; Michael Mitchell, Fowlerville; Jennifer Garcia, Hartland; Denise O'Connell, Holly; Christopher Nolan, Howell; Rick Morgan, Brighton; Kate DeRosier, Hartland; Yvonne Black; and Mirullia Morneault, Brighton.

15. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn the Annual Meeting at 9:20 p.m.

It was moved by D. Helzerman Seconded by W. Nakagiri

Roll Call Vote: Yes (8): D. Helzerman, R. Bezotte, J. Gross, G. Childs, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, W. Green, and W. Nakagiri; No (0): None; Absent (0): None.

MOTION Carried (8-0-0)

Elizabeth Hundley, Livingston County Clerk