LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

March 29, 2021, 5:30 p.m. Virtual Meeting Held in Accordance with Public Act 254 of 2020 Zoom Virtual Meeting Meeting ID: 399-700-0062 / Password: LCBOC https://zoom.us/j/3997000062?pwd=SUdLYVFFcmozWnFxbm0vcHRjWkVIZz09

Members Present:Wes Nakagiri, Carol Griffith, Kate Lawrence, Carol Sue Reader, Douglas Helzerman,
Jay Drick, Mitchell Zajac, Jay Gross, and Brenda Plank

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Wes Nakagiri at 5:31 p.m.

2. MOMENT OF SILENT REFLECTION

3. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

All rose for the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

4. ROLL CALL

Roll call by the Clerk indicated the presence of a quorum.

Wes Nakagiri, remotely from Hartland Township, County of Livingston, Michigan Carol Griffith, remotely from Genoa Township, County of Livingston, Michigan Kate Lawrence, remotely from City of Brighton, County of Livingston, Michigan Carol Sue Reader, remotely from Deerfield Township, County of Livingston, Michigan Douglas Helzerman, remotely from Handy Township, County of Livingston, Michigan Jay Drick, remotely from City of Howell, County of Livingston, Michigan Mitchell Zajac, remotely from Delhi Township, County of Ingham, Michigan Jay Gross, remotely from Green Oak Township, County of Livingston, Michigan Brenda Plank, remotely from Green Oak Township, County of Livingston, Michigan

5. CALL TO THE PUBLIC

The following people spoke regarding Resolution 2021-03-040: Brian Prokuda, Deerfield Township, Chairman of the Livingston County Planning Commission; Caitlyn Perry Dial, City of Brighton, Brighton District Library Trustee; Sean Greer, Howell; Kate DeRosier, Hartland Township, Cromaine District Library President; Cindy Michniewicz, Pinckney, Hamburg Township Trustee; Grant Howe, City of Howell; Yvonne Black, Marion Township; Brian Jonckheere, Howell, Livingston County Drain Commissioner; Alice Andrews, Brighton Township; Judy Daubenmier, Genoa Township; Bill Bolin, Brighton; Jessica Hamlin, Oceola Township; Aaron Wilson, Lansing; Danyelle Anjo, Brighton Township; Nancy Durance, Brighton; Rick Knieper, Hamburg Township; Cindi Holland, Howell; Jessica Garcia, Brighton; Elizabeth Johnson, City of Brighton; Mona Shand, Brighton; Lee Ann Blazejewski, Howell; Rob Paul Rodriguez-Pelizzari, Howell; Maegan Mueller, Howell; Lynn Vogel, Brighton; Anne Gebauer, Iosco Township; Kathy Carney, Brighton; Giani Cazan, Howell Township; Dennis Palmer, Brighton Township; Stephanie Johnson, Brighton; Jane Suarez-Forward, Brighton Township; Janine Iyer, Genoa Township; and Stacy Farrell, Oceola Township.

6. TABLED ITEMS FROM PREVIOUS MEETINGS

None.

7. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to approve the Agenda as presented.

It was moved by B. Plank Seconded by M. Zajac

Roll Call Vote: Yes (9): B. Plank, W. Nakagiri, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, C. Reader, D. Helzerman, J. Drick, M. Zajac, and J. Gross; No (0): None; Absent (0): None

MOTION Carried (9-0-0)

8. RECONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION

8.a 2021-03-040

Resolution Authorizing Livingston County to Declare a Local State of Emergency - Emergency Management

It was moved by B. Plank Seconded by M. Zajac Discussion

Motion to reconsider the original resolution.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (6): B. Plank, W. Nakagiri, C. Reader, D. Helzerman, J. Drick, and M. Zajac; No (3): C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, and J. Gross; Absent (0): None

MOTION to Reconsider Carried (6-3-0)

Motion to amend the Resolution to change the remain in effect date to April 16, 2021 in the last Be It Further Resolved paragraph.

It was moved by K. Lawrence Seconded by C. Griffith Discussion

Roll Call Vote: Yes (4): K. Lawrence, C. Griffith, C. Reader, and J. Gross; No (5): W. Nakagiri, D. Helzerman, J. Drick, M. Zajac, and B. Plank; Absent (0): None

MOTION to Amend Failed (4-5-0)

Motion to adopt the original Resolution as presented.

It was moved by J. Gross Seconded by C. Griffith

Roll Call Vote: Yes (0): None; No (9): J. Gross, W. Nakagiri, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, C. Reader, D. Helzerman, J. Drick, M. Zajac, and B. Plank; Absent (0): None

MOTION to Adopt Failed (0-9-0)

9. CALL TO THE PUBLIC

The following people spoke regarding Resolution 2021-03-040: Therese Cremonte, Livingston County Emergency Manager; Kate DeRosier, Hartland Township; Rick Knieper, Hamburg Township; Jessica Garcia, Brighton; Brian Prokuda, Deerfield Township; Cindi Holland, Howell; Stacy Ferrell, Oceola Township; Rebecca Foster, Village of Pinckney; Elizabeth Johnson, City of Brighton; Aaron Wilson, Lansing; Rob Rodriguez-Pelizzari, Howell; Caitlyn Perry Dial, Brighton, Brighton Library Board; Nancy Durance, Brighton; Jessica Hamlin, Oceola Township; Giani Cazan, Howell Township; Danyelle Anjo, Brighton Township and Lynn Vogel, Brighton.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:33 p.m.

It was moved by D. Helzerman Seconded by C. Griffith

Roll Call Vote: Yes (9): D. Helzerman, W. Nakagiri, C. Griffith, K. Lawrence, C. Reader, J. Drick, M. Zajac, J. Gross, and B. Plank; No (0): None; Absent (0): None

MOTION Carried (9-0-0)

Elizabeth Hundley, Livingston County Clerk