

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

County Building P.O. Box 70, Room 131 Cheboygan, Michigan 49721

Tel ~ (231) 627-8858 Fax ~ (231) 627-8881 E-mail ~ ccao@cheboygancounty.net

CHEBOYGAN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

RESOLUTION #2021-09 SUPPORTING PASSAGE OF LEGISLATION TO ADOPT 4-YEAR TERMS FOR COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

WHEREAS the 1963 Michigan Constitution stipulated four-year terms for the county Board of Supervisors, the preceding body to today's Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS the Legislature voted in 1966 to abolish Boards of Supervisors and formally replace them with Boards of Commissioners after the 1968 elections; and

WHEREAS Public Act 261 of 1966 promulgated that the length of terms for the new county commissioners shall be concurrent with that of state representatives, as specified in Article IV, section 3 of the Michigan Constitution; and

WHEREAS the scope of duties of a county commissioner has greatly increased in the last century road patrols, indigent defense, mental health treatment and substance abuse prevention programming, solid waste pick-up and disposal, food and water supply safety, park operations, economic development efforts, emergency management and response; and

WHEREAS Michigan is one of only five states in the United States that provides for exclusively twoyear terms for county commissioners; and

WHEREAS all other county and township elected officials in Michigan are elected to terms of at least four years; and

WHEREAS the position of county commissioner is a highly complex oversight role that requires years to

WHEREAS legislation to amend state law to enact four-year terms has been filed in the form of Senate Bills 242 and 245; and

WHEREAS the Michigan Association of Counties support the legislation as introduced;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that CHEBOYGAN COUNTY supports Senate Bills 242 and 245 to enact four-year terms for County Commissioners.

Adopted this 13th day of April, 2021

Cheboygan County Board of Commissioners

District 1 Mary Ellen Tryban

District 2 Richard B. Sangster Michael Newman Vice-Chairman

District 3

District 4 Ron Williams

District 5 Roberta Matelski District 6 John B. Wallace Chair

District 7 Steve Warfield I, Karen L. Brewster the undersigned, the Clerk of the County of Cheboygan, Cheboygan County, Michigan, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and complete copy of certain proceedings taken by the Cheboygan County Board of commissioners at its regular or reconvened meeting held on April 13, 2021, relative to adoption of the resolution therein set forth; that said meeting was conducted and public notice of said meeting was given pursuant to and in full compliance with the Open Meetings Act, being Act 267, Public Acts of Michigan, 1976, and that the minutes of said meeting were kept and will be or have been made available as required by said Act.

In Testimony Whereof, I have hereunto set my hand, and affixed the seal of said Court and County, this 13th day of April, 2021.

Karen L. Brewster

Cheboygan County Clerk/Register

Haron L. Brewster