# LIVINGSTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING MINUTES



June 23, 2021

IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE FINANCE COMMITTEE

Board of Commissioners Hybrid Meeting

Zoom Virtual Meeting ID: 399-700-0062 / Password: LCBOC

https://zoom.us/j/3997000062?pwd=SUdLYVFFcmozWnFxbm0vcHRjWkVIZz09

304 E. Grand River Ave., Board Chambers, Howell, Michigan

Members Present: Wes Nakagiri, Carol Griffith, Carol Sue Reader, Douglas Helzerman,

Jay Drick, Mitchell Zajac, Jay Gross, and Brenda Plank

## 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Wes Nakagiri at 8:37 a.m.

## 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

All rose for the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

## 3. ROLL CALL

Roll call by the Clerk indicated the presence of a quorum.

District 1 is vacant.

#### 4. CALL TO THE PUBLIC

None.

## 5. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion to approve the Agenda as presented.

Moved by: M. Zajac Seconded by: C. Griffith

Motion Carried (8-0-0)

## 6. RESOLUTIONS FOR CONSIDERATION

## 6.1 2021-06-094

Resolution Approving the Voting Procedure for the District 1 County Commissioner Appointment – Board of Commissioners

Discussion.

Motion to adopt the Resolution.

Moved by: M. Zajac Seconded by: B. Plank

Discussion.

**Motion Carried (8-0-0)** 

## 7. INTERVIEWS OF DISTRICT 1 CANDIDATES

The following candidates gave an introduction and answered questions from the Commissioners:

- a. Anna Marie Rodriguez Pelizzari
- b. Dr. Caitlyn Perry Dial
- c. Daniel Schifko
- d. Martin Smith

Meeting recess at 9:54 a.m.

Meeting resumed at 10:05 a.m.

- e. Robert Sexton
- f. Ginger Erickson

Meeting recess at 10:46 a.m.

Meeting resumed at 10:55 a.m.

The Board will accept and consider Commissioner nominations for appointment of individuals to the vacant District 1 office for the remainder of the unexpired term.

Chairperson Nakagiri opened the floor for nominations of candidates that applied to fill the vacancy for District 1, Livingston County Board of Commissioners for the remainder of the current unexpired term.

Commissioner Griffith nominated Martin Smith.

Commissioner Zajac nominated Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Helzerman nominated Ginger Erickson.

Commissioner Reader nominated Robert Sexton.

Commissioner Gross nominated Anna Marie Rodriguez Pelizzari.

Following no further nominations, Chairperson Nakagiri closed the nominations.

Vote taken for nominated candidates to fill the District 1 vacancy in office for the remainder of the appointment term until December 31, 2022.

Commissioner Reader voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Nakagiri voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Helzerman voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Drick voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Zajac voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Griffith voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Gross voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Plank voted for Martin Smith.

Chairperson Nakagiri called for a second vote, per Resolution 2021-06-094, to fill the District 1 vacancy in office for the remainder of the appointment term until December 31, 2022.

Commissioner Reader voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Nakagiri voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Helzerman voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Drick voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Zajac voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Griffith voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Gross voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Plank voted for Martin Smith.

TIED 4-4-0 no candidate elected

Motion to suspend the rules to allow for discussion.

Moved by: M. Zajac

Seconded by: W. Nakagiri

Discussion

Roll Call Vote: Yes (6): M. Zajac, W. Nakagiri, C. Griffith, J. Drick, J. Gross, and B. Plank

No (2): C. Reader, and D. Helzerman

**Motion Carried to Suspend Rules (6-2-0)** 

#### Discussion

Chairperson Nakagiri called for a third vote, to fill the District 1 vacancy in office for the remainder of the appointment term until December 31, 2022.

Commissioner Reader voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Nakagiri voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Helzerman voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Drick voted for Daniel Schifko.

Commissioner Zajac voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Griffin voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Gross voted for Martin Smith.

Commissioner Plank voted for Martin Smith.

# Martin Smith elected to fill the District 1 vacancy

## 8. RESOLUTIONS FOR CONSIDERATION CONTINUED

#### 8.1 2021-06-095

Resolution Establishing Uniform Procedure for Nominating and Selecting Citizens for Board Committee Appointed Positions – Board of Commissioners

Motion to adopt the Resolution.

Moved by: M. Zajac Seconded by: B. Plank

Discussion

Motion to amend the resolution to include a sunset on this resolution of September 1, 2021, along with referring this to a committee to include two directors, three Commissioners and Natalie Hunt as a non-voting member, and the committee will bring back a proposal to the full board by August 15, 2021.

Moved by: D. Helzerman Seconded by: C. Reader

Discussion.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (4): D. Helzerman, C. Griffith, C. Reader, and J. Drick No (4): W. Nakagiri, M. Zajac, J. Gross, and B. Plank; Absent (0): None

Motion to amend Failed (4-4-0)

Motion to amend resolution to include additions/deletions from Commissioner Zajac pursuant to attached redline version of resolution.

Moved by: M. Zajac Seconded by: B. Plank

Discussion.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (7): M. Zajac, W. Nakagiri, C. Griffith, C. Reader, J. Drick, J. Gross, and B. Plank; No (1): D. Helzerman; Absent (0): None

**Motion to amend Carried (7-1-0)** 

Motion to adopt amended Resolution.

Moved by: M. Zajac Seconded by: B. Plank

Discussion.

Roll Call Vote: Yes (7): M. Zajac, W. Nakagiri, C. Griffith, C. Reader, J. Drick, J. Gross, and B. Plank; No (1): D. Helzerman; Absent (0): None

Motion Carried to adopt amended resolution (7-1-0)

## 9. FINANCE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION FOR APPROVAL OF CLAIMS

Motion to approve the Claims.

Dated: June 23, 2021

Moved by: C. Griffith Seconded by: J. Gross

Motion Carried (8-0-0)

## 10. FINANCE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION FOR APPROVAL OF PAYABLES

Motion to approve the Payables.

Dated: June 4, 2021 to June 17, 2021

Moved by: C. Griffith Seconded by: B. Plank

**Motion Carried (8-0-0)** 

## 11. CALL TO THE PUBLIC

Steve Williams, Howell, spoke regarding Huron Clinton Metroparks Authority appointment process.

# 12. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 12:00 p.m.

Moved by: D. Helzerman Seconded by: C. Reader

Motion Carried (8-0-0)

Elizabeth Hundley, Livingston County Clerk