CLINTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson Robert Showers Vice-Chairperson Kenneth B. Mitchell Members Valerie Vail-Shirey David W. Pohl Bruce DeLong John Andrews Dwight Washington COURTHOUSE 100 E. STATE STREET ST. JOHNS, MICHIGAN 48879-1571 989-224-5120



Administrator/Controller John F. Fuentes Clerk of the Board Debra A. Sutherland

2023-3

RESOLUTION TO HONOR THE MICHIGAN ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES ON ITS 125^{TH} ANNIVERSARY

WHEREAS, Michigan's 83 county governments play a central role in the proper delivery of, and oversight for, critical public services for the state's approximately 10 million residents; and

WHEREAS, Michigan county governments are led by Boards of Commissioners, who are elected from their communities; and

WHEREAS, the State Association of Supervisors of Michigan was formed by representatives of 16 counties on Feb. 1, 1898, in the Senate chamber of the Michigan State Capitol in Lansing; and

WHEREAS, the Association's name was changed to the Michigan Association of Counties on July 17, 1969; and

WHEREAS, the Michigan Association of Counties is the oldest Association representing local governments in Michigan; and

WHEREAS, 48 of Michigan's 83 counties have had at least one of their commissioners (or supervisors prior to 1968) serve as president of the Association's Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, the Association created the Michigan Counties Workers' Compensation Fund in 1979 to help county members provide workplace safety and injury insurance services to its employees; and

WHEREAS, the Association created the Michigan Association of Counties Service Corporation in 1986 to partner with service providers to help counties save money on everything from health insurance to telecommunications services; and

WHEREAS, the Association hosts two major conferences every year to bring together county leaders for briefings on trending public policy issues and to hear from state newsmakers and others; and

WHEREAS, the Association's advocacy work in Lansing and beyond has advanced the interests of county governments and the residents they serve; and

WHEREAS, no fewer than five Association presidents have served or are serving in the Michigan Legislature in the 21st century, a testament to the culture of public service inculcated by the Association.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that Clinton County wishes to commend and honor the Michigan Association of Counties on its 125th Anniversary year.

STATE OF MICHIGAN

COUNTY OF CLINTON

I, DEBRA A. SUTHERLAND, Clerk of the County of Clinton do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly adopted by the Clinton County Board of Commissioners at the regular meeting held February 28, 2023 and is on file in the records of this office.

Xellra a. Sutherland

Debra A. Sutherland, Clinton County Clerk