RESOLUTION	NO:	2023-04-050
LIVINGSTON COUNTY	DATE:	April 11, 2023

## **Resolution Approving Appointments to the Livingston County Community Corrections Advisory Board – Board of Commissioners**

- **WHEREAS,** the terms of representatives on the Livingston County Community Corrections Advisory Board have expired and/or seats have been vacated; and
- **WHEREAS,** The LCCCAB shall consist of no less than fourteen (14) statutorily mandated members pursuant to Section 7 (1), Page 3, of Enrolled House Bill 4164, Public Act 51 l (PA51 l) who shall be representative of the following statute of mandated members.
  - 1. One member shall be a county sheriff, or his/her designee.
  - 2. One member shall be a chief of a city police depailment, or his/her designee.
  - 3. One member shall be a judge of the circuit court, or his/her designee.
  - 4. One member shall be a judge of the district court, or his/her designee.
  - 5. One member shall be a judge of the probate court, or his/her designee.
  - 6. One member shall be a county commissioner or city councilperson. In the case of a regional advisory board or a city-county advisory board, 1 county commissioner or councilperson from each participating city and county shall serve as a member.
  - 7. One member shall be selected from 1 of the following service areas: mental health, public health, substance abuse, employment, and training, or community alternative programs.
  - 8. One member shall be a county prosecuting attorney, or his/her designee.
  - 9. One member shall be a criminal defense attorney.
  - 10. One member shall be from the business community.
  - 11. One member shall be from the communications media.
  - 12. One member shall be a representative of circuit court or district court probation.
  - 13. One member who is affiliated with the applicable workforce investment board.
  - 14. Member of the local clergy.
- **WHEREAS,** the following appointments have been recommended (\**Positions are currently vacant*):
  - 1. Sheriff Michael Murphy (Chairperson)
  - 2. Chief of Police -Chief David S. Russell (Unadilla Township)
  - 3. Circuit Court Judge -Honorable Michael P. Hatty
  - 4. District Court Judge -Honorable Daniel B. Bain
  - 5. District Court Judge -Honorable Miriam A. Cavanaugh
  - 6. \*County Commissioner Roger Deaton
  - 7. Service Area Members:
    - a. Livingston County CMH Executive Director Connie Conklin
    - *b.* \**Community members Carol Sue Reader*
    - c. \*Community members Jennifer Bigelow
  - 8. County Prosecutor-David J. Reader
  - 9. Criminal Defense -Karen Groenhout
  - 10. Business Community -Curtis Griffin
  - 11. Communications Media
    - a. \*Ken Rogulski
  - 12. \*Probation Supervisor Michael Boyden
  - 13. Workforce Development -Dawn Awrey (Michigan Works!)
  - 14. Member of Local Clergy -Carrie Skiles

-

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Livingston County Board of Commissioners hereby approve the above referenced appointments for a term of four (4) years commencing upon approval and expiring on April 11, 2027.

# # #

MOVED: SECONDED: CARRIED: