



May 31, 2023, 6:00 p.m. Livingston County Administration Building 304 E. Grand River, Board Chambers, Howell MI 48843

Members Present Wes Nakagiri, Douglas Helzerman, David Domas, Frank Sample, Jay Drick,

Roger Deaton, Nick Fiani, Jay Gross

Members Absent Martin Smith

1. Call Meeting to Order

The meeting was called to order by Commissioner Fiani at 7:35 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Roll call by the Clerk indicated the presence of a quorum.

3. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve the Agenda as presented.

It was moved by D. Helzerman Seconded by D. Domas

Yes (8): D. Helzerman, D. Domas, F. Sample, W. Nakagiri, J. Drick, R. Deaton, N. Fiani, and J. Gross; Absent (1): M. Smith

Motion Carried (8 to 0)

4. Call to the Public

Commissioner Helzerman recited a prayer.

5. Closed Session: Discuss Pending Litigation per MCL 15.268(e)

Motion to convene a Closed Session at 7:37 p.m. to discuss specific pending litigation in Hartland Township v Livingston County and Livingston County Department of Public Works in Case #23-31864-CK per MCL 15.268 (e).

It was moved by D. Domas Seconded by J. Gross

Yes (8): D. Helzerman, D. Domas, F. Sample, W. Nakagiri, J. Drick, R. Deaton, N. Fiani, and J. Gross; Absent (1): M. Smith

Motion Carried (8 to 0)

Motion to return to Open Session at 9:03 p.m.

It was moved by D. Domas Seconded by J. Gross

Yes (8): D. Helzerman, D. Domas, F. Sample, W. Nakagiri, J. Drick, R. Deaton, N. Fiani, and J. Gross; Absent (1): M. Smith

Motion Carried (8 to 0)

Motion to authorize hiring John Brennan as legal counsel to represent Livingston County and the Livingston County Department of Public Works in Case #23-31864-CK filed in the 44th Circuit Court by Hartland Township at the rate of \$330/hr. and authorize the board chair to sign a fee agreement upon approval as to form by the County's Corporation Counsel.

It was moved by: R. Deaton Seconded by: F. Sample

Yes (8): D. Helzerman, D. Domas, F. Sample, W. Nakagiri, J. Drick, R. Deaton, N. Fiani, and J. Gross; Absent (1): M. Smith

Motion Carried (8 to 0)

6. Call to the Public

Brian Jonckheere, Drain Commissioner, addressed the commissioners.

7. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 9:08 p.m.

It was moved by W. Nakagiri Seconded by R. Deaton

Yes (8): D. Helzerman, D. Domas, F. Sample, W. Nakagiri, J. Drick, R. Deaton, N. Fiani, and J. Gross; Absent (1): M. Smith

Motion Carried (8 to 0)

throw the A

Natalie Hunt, Recording Secretary